Mysteries aren’t supposed to be funny

When my mother first read Who is Killing Doah’s Deer? I could tell that something was troubling her.  Finally, she just had to ask.  “Did you intend it” she asked “to be funny?”

You see, it troubled my mom that I had written a funny mystery.  Mysteries aren’t supposed to be funny, she told me.

I didn’t set out to write a “humorous mystery” in the sense of identifying “humorous mysteries” as the subgenre that I intended to inhabit.  But I did set out to write a mystery that reflected my own worldview, and apparently, some of you find that worldview funny.  (Of course, I’ve read your blogs and, well, to put this gently, some of you are deeply disturbed).

So now I’ve written three humorous mysteries.  And people expect me to be funny when I blog.

That’s a lot to expect of me.  Perhaps this new blog will lower your expectations.

13 thoughts on “Mysteries aren’t supposed to be funny

    1. Look, I can even respond to your comments, just as if we were still on….I mean….just as if we were still…..over *there*.

      Like

      1. Sort of just like it, but not entirely. Or maybe entirely. I have yet to discover a universal inbox with with everything I need to know laid out in front of me. Apparently I will need to have a brain here. How inconvenient.

        Like

      2. I just go to that “reader” thing in the menu under the little W in a circle and click on that box that looks like a cartoon dialogue box. Voila! Universal comment box. And in the reader section, all the blogs I’m following. Voila! Universal blog post box.

        Like

  1. Okay, first of all, your blog is so pleasant and *pretty*. I don’t know how you did that. But I like it. And second, you’re always funny! And finally, I think mysteries should have been funny all along. I write funny tragedies. Example: I wrote a short story I affectionately call “Dead Baby” (not it’s real title) and today when it was rejected the editor said, “this is fluid and witty writing.” Hm. It’s hard to be witty about dead babies, but I did it!!!

    Like

  2. Okay, I’m confused. Were you funny before and now you’re going to blog seriously? Or is this post attacking your mother supposed to be funny? Please elaborate.

    Dad

    Like

  3. Hi, Jeff,

    Personally, I love funny mysteries. Wish I could inject more humor into my own, but I think my son and I together did a good job. Now we just have to wait for the reviews of The Third Eye to find out if critics agree. Ughh!

    Like

  4. ’bout time you joined the WordPress crew. You introduced me to the world of blogging, Jeff. I didn’t even know what a blog was before our meeting in Schaumburg all those years ago. 😎

    Like

  5. Want not a take mystery with a dose of humor? Do you watch Castle? There’s a series of mysteries dosed with humor. I like that about it. That said, do you… gently now… consider me deeply disturbed?

    Like

Leave a Reply

