This loo is for you

Having addressed my literary bona fides this morning, I now feel comfortable blogging about pop-up books.  Call it my guilty pleasure, but I have always had a thing for pop-up books.  Books like 600 Black Spots, A Pop-Up Book for Children of All Ages, by David A. Carter.

Image

I even own a pop-up book about how to make pop-up books, The Elements of Pop-Up by David A. Carter and James Diaz.  So I know a little bit about parallel folds and angle folds, about one-ply and two-ply.

Image

But my favorite pop-up book, without question is The Pop-up Book of Phobias, by Gary Greenberg.  Pick a page.  Any page.

Perhaps you’re afraid of dentists.

Image

Spiders?

Image

Or perhaps (and this is, finally, the purpose of the post) you’re like my friend Mrs. OBL, who is afraid that she will fail to complete her two-item list today, the second item being to post a photo of her toilet on wordpress.

Image

7 thoughts on “This loo is for you

  1. My son Joshua also collects pop-up books – and I love creating pop-ups. I have the second instructional book on you list, although my very best how to went missing…alas.

    Like

  2. hahaha. Perfect. No time to photograph the loo tonight. Camera is already packed. Some other time, perhaps. That is an EXCELLENT pop-up phobia book!!!!

    Like

  3. These are very cool! As a Kindergarten teacher I invested a ton of money into books for my classroom! The kids loved the pop-up books! And, well…I kinda like them myself. 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

  4. I’ve always been mesmerized by pop up books. How do they make them? I really want to know. How can you mass produce something so intricate? I think they should make a “How it’s Made” episode about that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

