KGB

It is perhaps, a cliche, this thing about writers and whiskey, but there is something very special about doing a reading in a bar.

Until now, my favorite reading was at The Apple Barrel, on Frenchmen Street in New Orleans, back in 2009.  But I think that’s going to change because I have arranged a reading this fall at KGB Bar.

“In the years since it opened in 1993, KGB has become something of a New York literary institution. Writers hooked up in the publishing world read here with pleasure and without pay to an adoring public over drinks almost every Sunday evening (fiction), Monday evening (poetry), and most Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays. The crowd loves it. Admission is free, drinks are cheap and strong, and the level of excellence is such that KGB has been named best literary venue in New York City by New York Magazine, the Village Voice, and everyone else who bestows these awards of recognition.” (kgb bar)

So you will understand how very pleased I am to have been selected to read at KGB this fall.  It’s still four months off, but on Wednesday evening, October 23, I will be one of several MWA (Mystery Writers of America) members who will be reading at KGB.  Located in a second-floor walk-up in the East Village, KGB Bar is the preeminent literary bar in NYC.

Image

I’ve added a page of Events and Appearances with information about this and other upcoming book events.  All of the events are going to be fun, but if you can only get to one, this is the one to put on your calendar.

I’ll be easy to recognize.  I’ll be the one sipping Scotch.

5 thoughts on “KGB

  1. Wow! That sounds fun. I love our local reading-at-a-bar scene. I just discovered it a year ago and now I can’t believe I never knew about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

