One Writer’s Routine

This is the 30th post I have written since moving my blog to wordpress on June 3.  So it may come as a surprise to some of you when I say that I am frustrated that I haven’t been writing.  There are a few of you who will know what I mean.  There is blogging and there is writing and they are not the same thing.  I mean no disrespect to the many talented bloggers that I read regularly, so perhaps I need to clarify that statement.  The difference, for me, is the difference between writing for publication and writing for any other purpose.  Perhaps I need to clarify that statement as well.  One of my favorite quotes about writing comes from T. M. McNally, who wrote, “When you die, I believe, God isn’t going to ask you what you published.  God’s going to ask you what you wrote.”  And I really do believe that, but with all due respect to the Almighty, God may read my unpublished manuscripts, but the ladies in the Hungry Readers Book Club won’t read my books unless they’re published.

As a writer, I think it is important to establish a writing routine that works for you.   So what is my writing routine?   What are the elements that tell me that I’m writing something that may be worthy of being my next book.

1.  I do my best writing at 5:30 in the morning.  If I’m not writing fiction at 5:30 in the morning, I’m not really writing.
2.  If I’m sleeping well, I’m not writing well.  When I’m writing well, I sleep poorly, waking up at 2:00 a.m. my head stuffed with dialogue for the next chapter.
3.  If I’m writing well, I’m not paying enough attention to real life events.  I am somewhere else, in a fictional town, interacting with fictional characters.
4.  If I’m writing well, I will interrupt whatever I am doing to sit down at the computer and write.

So I am very pleased, and more than little bit  excited to realize that I have been up before the alarm every day this week, on the computer writing fiction at 5:30 in the morning, even this morning, Saturday morning, nearly 10,000 words this week about a guy who’s life is about to spin out of control.

Three dead bodies and we still haven’t gotten to the bad stuff.

But we will.

Life is good here.  I hope it is where you are too.

2 thoughts on “One Writer’s Routine

Leave a Reply

