Princeton, seen through fresh eyes

It was 43 years ago this week that I first moved to Princeton.  I was 18 years old at the time, an incoming college student moving into my freshman dorm.  I have lived and worked in the Princeton area for most of the last 43 years.  When you have lived in one place for so long, it’s easy to take the place for granted.  And so, beyond the pleasure of spending half the day with a genuinely nice guy, I also enjoyed the opportunity to see Princeton through fresh eyes.  I will leave it to Gary (RighteousBruin) to share his impressions and his photos, but while Gary was taking pictures of Princeton, I decided to spend the time taking pictures of Gary, taking pictures of Princeton.

This is Gary standing in front of Nassau Hall.

Image
Nassau Hall is the oldest building on the campus.  Built in 1756, Nassau Hall has a fascinating place in American history.  In 1777, British forces occupied the building.  During the Battle of Princeton, George Washington’s army shelled the building with cannon fire, in order to re-take Nassau Hall.  (By the way, in case you’ve ever wondered where George Washington was going in the famous painting Washington Crossing the Delaware, he was on his way to the Battle of Trenton and from there north to the Battle of Princeton).  In 1783, when Philadelphia was deemed too dangerous, the Continental Congress moved for a brief time into Nassau Hall, in Princeton.

Here’s Gary checking out a sculpture just outside of Firestone Library.

Image
And here he is taking photos inside the University Chapel.

Image
Image
DSCN1188

We catch up with Gary checking out the plants and flowers in Prospect Garden.

Image
Image
Image

And we finish the day with Gary taking a photograph at the grave site of Aaron Burr.

Image
Image

Sorry, I didn’t get any pictures of Gary eating his blueberry pancakes this morning.  It looked a lot like the rest of the photos, except he was eating blueberry pancakes.

It was simply a very nice day with a very nice man.

7 thoughts on “Princeton, seen through fresh eyes

  1. This reminds me of Donovan’s “Season of the Witch”- “When I look over my shoulder, what do you think I see? Some other cat looking over his shoulder at me.”
    Thanks, Jeff and remember, my camera battery went dead, so I never got the photos of the graves of Aaron Burr or Jonathan Edwards. Ditto, a very nice day spent with a very nice man. 🙂

    Like

  2. I just came from Gary’s blog. I am in love with the old buildings of Princeton! I don’t know if I could ever get tired of such beautiful old halls of knowledge. Did you see it in a new way, or did you just watch Gary enjoy the beauty of discovery? LOL!

    Like

Leave a Reply

