A Thanksgiving Recap

My Thanksgiving started early, at 6:20 in the morning, my wife advising me that she needed to go to the hospital.  I watched the parade in its entirety on a TV in the ER, and the dog show as well, while they ran tests.  I checked my watch, counting the hours until our guests were due to arrive.  If necessary, I could buy eighteen turkey dinners from the hospital cafeteria.  It was just past 2:00 when we left the hospital.  Nothing serious; nothing to worry about.

But I was, perhaps, a tad behind schedule.  I got the turkey out of the apple brine and set it up to smoke outdoors, over hickory, alder and applewood.  I put my son in charge of making sure my wife didn’t do anything strenuous.  And then we got to work on the sides.  Sweet potatoes, white potatoes, bread stuffing, sweet and savory stuffing, mushrooms with peas, cauliflower au gratin, gravy.  Everyone pitched in.  And sometime last night, we sat down to Thanksgiving dinner.

ImageImageTruly, I have much to be thankful for.

7 thoughts on “A Thanksgiving Recap

  1. Jeff, I am sorry you had to spend the day in the ER. I did that this past Sunday. I don’t know if you go to Xanga at all or not. I had written an account of what happened. I am glad it wasn’t anything serious. I pray that she will enjoy good health. Indeed you have a lot to be thankful for. Happy Hanukkah to you and your family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

