Take another little piece of my heart now, baby

Last time I went into Manhattan, I shared with you this shot of the tree in Rockefeller Center.

scantreeSome of you liked the image, but a few of you asked for a proper photo.  We were in the city yesterday, and this time, we brought back photos.

Image

Image
Rockefeller Center was hopping, but that’s not what brought us into the city last night.  When we left Rockefeller Center, we strolled through Times Square – stroll is probably the wrong word – it would be more accurate to tell you that we shuffled through Times Square.  By now, as I write this, there are probably a million people crowded into Times Square in anticipation of tonight’s ball drop, but last night, one evening prior to New Years Eve, I would estimate that a quarter of a million people were already partying in Times Square.

But that, also, is not what brought us into NYC last night.  We were in the city for a Night with Janis Joplin.  When I think about the singers and musicians that I never had a chance to see live, Janis is at the top of the list.  I was, perhaps, just a couple of years too young, or came to my hippie creds just a little too late for Janis, who died in 1970.

I’m sure Janis never envisioned her life and her songs on Broadway and it is a little bit depressing to think of Janis Joplin on Broadway, but Mary Bridget Davies, who performs as Janis, is remarkable.  The music is everything you might hope for and more.  It is an extraordinary Broadway show.

After the show let out, in the cold night air, we strolled back to Penn Station, pausing for a moment at 34th Street to appreciate the view.

Image
Take another little piece of my heart now, baby.

Wishing you all a happy and healthy New Year.

6 thoughts on “Take another little piece of my heart now, baby

  1. it’s scary to think how close to santa you begin to conjur in your photos and all the while knowing about how your letters become words and those words sentences of how some poor sap bought the farm. oh and at least they hopefully wont steal new years from you like that evil bus driver once did. happy new year.

    hurry up and say I don’t make sense, please, or I just may to the ruin of how I’m perceived..

    Like

  2. Beautiful photos! And sounds like a fun night! 🙂
    I have an older relative who saw Janis in concert “back in the day”…he, also, saw Hendrix, The Doors, etc…and I can’t remember them all.
    Happy New Year to you and your family!!! 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂
    PS…I still like your tree best. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

