Autism in Adolescents and Adults

I spend a lot of time blogging about books. Tonight, I want to recommend a very different sort of book, Autism Spectrum Disorders in Adolescents and Adults: Evidence-Based and Promising Interventions, by Matt Tincani and Andy Bondy (eds).

I have spent the last 40 years developing community-based programs and services for adolescents and adults with autism. I have focused especially on the clinical and regulatory issues inherent in the transition between adolescent and adult services (I know some of you thought I was a mystery writer) so it is heartening to see a comprehensive discussion of these issues.

But that is not what I like best about the book, coming from Guilford Press in September. What I like best is chapter 13.

“Chapter 13, by Markowitz, deals with an aspect of life that many families are reluctant to face: aging and its associated issues of estate planning and funding. The growth in the number of individuals with ASD has had a great impact on the number of adults needing services and lifelong oversight. The author reviews several life-sustaining factors, including appropriate medical care, the role of parents and guardians as advocates, and the transition from work to retirement. Markowitz provides a careful review of residential alternatives and what factors may influence their selection. Finally, there is a review of issues related to funding for services and support.” (from the preface, p. xv, Tincani and Bondy, Guilford Press, 2014)

Make no mistake. I had nothing to do with chapter 13. As I said elsewhere, if I had written chapter 13, someone would have died. The Markowitz who authored chapter 13 is my talented wife, Carol.

10 thoughts on “Autism in Adolescents and Adults

  1. btw, on another subject – how did you get your site title/username to have caps and spaces? it won’t let me create a site unless it’s all lower case and no spaces. ? any advice?

    Like

  2. I was gratified when you told me of your day job, last summer, Jeff. It is truly a labour of love, and having made my way relatively unscathed through a life of autism,albeit mild, I can attest to the importance of planning ahead financially, which I have done. I will look for the above-mentioned book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

