Month: October 2014

Mysterious

I’ve been reading the debut issue of Prose ‘n Cons, A Magazine for Fans of Mystery, Crime and Suspense. I picked up a copy at Creatures, Crimes and Creativity and I’ve been reading bits and pieces. It is a promising new venture and I wish them well. I was drawn to a spotlight article about The Mysterious Bookshop, the independent mystery bookstore in NYC. The interviewer comments, “We can only imagine that mystery, true crime, and suspense writers must consider a signing at your shop a bit like a trip to the Holy Land.” I cannot speak for other mystery writers, but that pretty much sums up how I feel about it.

I am pleased to announce that my new book, Death and White Diamonds will launch with a book signing at The Mysterious Bookshop on Friday evening December 5, from 6:30 – 8:00. If you live in the NYC area, I hope you’ll help me celebrate. And, if you don’t live in or near NYC, perhaps I should remind you that you’ve always wanted to visit NYC during the holiday season. Perhaps this is the year to make that trip a reality. Why settle for seeing the Rockefeller Center tree on television, when you can see it in person? The tree is pretty amazing in the daylight.

scantreeIt is spectacular at night.

scantreenightAnd then you can join the festivities when Death and White Diamonds launches at The Mysterious Bookshop.

dwd199pxwide

Advertisements

Best Sellers

When I was younger, it was easy to know which books were best sellers. They were the handful of books identified on the NY Times Best Seller list, published weekly in the Sunday Book Review. I never gave much thought to how it was that the NY Times was the arbiter of best sellerdom, but they were. Today, of course, the concept of best sellerdom has grown exponentially. Even the NY Times now has 12 different lists –

  • Combined print and e-book best sellers, fiction
  • Combined print and e-book best sellers, nonfiction
  • Print/hardcover best sellers, fiction
  • Print/hardcover best sellers, nonfiction
  • Children’s best sellers, middle grade
  • Children’s best sellers, young adult
  • Children’s best sellers, picture books
  • Children’s best sellers, series
  • Paperback trade fiction
  • Mass-market fiction
  • Business
  • Relationships

The NY Times is just the tip of the iceberg now. No one generates more best seller lists than amazon, hundreds, if not thousands of lists, updated hourly. It used to annoy me when someone with a handful of sales would jigger the amazon system and market themselves as a national best-selling author. Because they were #18 on the paranormal seafaring BDSM cozy mystery cookbook list.

But a wise man once taught me that where you stand depends on where you sit. And today my ghost story, Twelve Steps sits on the 15-Minute Mystery, Suspense and Thriller Short Reads list of Amazon Best Sellers. Currently hanging on to the #11 spot on the list, earlier today I peaked at #10.

I can’t explain my change of heart, but today all those best seller lists seem perfectly legitimate. Do I have the chutzpah to start promoting myself as an amazon best selling author? Watch this space.

Starting tomorrow, Twelve Steps: a ghost story, will be free on kindle for the rest of the week.

Twelve Steps: a ghost story