Guest Blog Post By Jeff Markowitz, Author of “Death and White Diamonds”

GottaWriteNetwork

Jeff Markowitz (photo credit, E. Harcus) Jeff Markowitz
(photo credit, E. Harcus)

Death and DiamondsI wrote the first draft of “Death and White Diamonds” in eight weeks during the summer of 2013. But that is not entirely accurate because I wrote the first paragraph in 2006. Perhaps I should explain. It’s all about finding the dead body.

Whenever I’m travelling or otherwise outside of my normal routine, I have a certain writing exercise that I do. I look for the dead body. It’s an exercise in finding story ideas. I think of it like a musician practicing his scales. I imagine dead bodies in the airport, on the train, at black-tie galas and minor-league baseball games. I imagine the dead body and then I write a few sentences to capture the moment.

I’ve found dead bodies in middle-eastern bars on M Street and on the elevator at the Kennedy Center. I’ve found dead bodies floating in Baltimore’s Inner…

View original post 565 more words

Leave a Reply

